Border Tails

By Swannie

i ging peop e to ther

I had a CPC day today. This is seven hours of compulsory training which must be undertaken five times in the space of five years, to enable drivers to take passengers on board a bus. Without it, I can still drive a bus, but an empty one! Luckily for me, Borders Buses let me pay for my day as I haven’t worked for them since last autumn.

I picked up my copy of the latest staff magazine, which came out at the beginning of the year and read that it has been discovered that the parent company West Coast Motors, despite their slogan that they have been “Bringing people together since 1923“ have, in fact been doing so since 1921! The current MD, has been trawling records and discovered a newspaper advert from the Campbeltown Courier advertising a service from the town to Tarbert in an edition from February 1921 - see extra.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.