Peculiar

MrH hates the cinema for a range of reasons and usually refuses to go. He doesn’t see the point of paying to see something you can eventually watch on your TV in the peace and quiet of home. He hates the seating positions, the lighting and “annoying people throwing their litter everywhere’s and making noise”. I appreciated this view but it’s not my experience at all.

One day of the year there is full compromise so MrH chose a meal out (Turkish restaurant very nice) and I chose to watch Midsommer at the cinema (I thought it was likely a good big screen thing). It was nice to go to the cinema for the first time in ages.

The film started at 9:45pm and finished at 12:30am. Thankfully there was a taxi (the driver told us if we’d watched it midweek there would be no chance of a taxi at that time!)

Film was good, surreal, full on. You need to be alert to watch it as it’s full of pacey stuff. It’s beautiful photographically and costume/set wise. Lots copied from Wickerman but also lots of new turns and risks taken. It’s got an 8/10 on IMDb but the taxi driver told me he’s heard lots of people walked out in disgust.

I’d say it’s graphic and in a way less scary than Wickerman as less is left to the imagination. It’s Silence if the Lambs on the graphic scale. I saw a lot of Kubrick and quite a bit of Lynch influences in there. Pretty beautiful setting contrasted with some disturbing scenes.

I’ve had an incredibly busy 3 of 4 weeks so tonight was welcome as it was a huge change and the big plus is I walked 5 miles today despite the taxi!

On a final note, watching a horror type film at the cinema late at night when you are the only people watching the entire screening is incredibly unnerving. Apparently I talked a lot during the film . . . Ok, yeah I did, loads. Go watch it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.