Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Common Centaury

This morning I went to Pennington Flash to see if there were any kingfishers about - there weren't! 
What I had failed to realise until I got there was that there was a massive Ironman contest this weekend so it was really busy. I don't think the event starts until 6am tomorrow, but there were hundreds of people registering and leaving their bikes in transition. The swim starts from the flash and then they head out on bikes towards Bolton apparently. It was very noisy. 
There was a distinct lack of birds around today but I saw a few butterflies (all of which I have already blipped this year, so I thought I would join this weeks WildFlowerWeek challenge run by Miranda. I have never seen this one before and when I looked it up it seems to be common centaury, which I have never heard of, but I think it's rather pretty. 
Tomorrow I will be a couch potato and be watching all the sport that is on before going to my parents for dinner in the evening. So, unless I get up really early, it will be another garden bird as my blip probably :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.