The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Last Light

When you are this far north and the air is super cooled (-15C) and dense, right before it gets dark, a rather ordinary sunset can turn quite spectacular without great notice. With little humidity or pollution, the colors of the setting sun pierce the air with a vengeance. And, if the cold air does not take your breath away, the vibrant colors will.

Tonight such was true. The impending darkness stood no chance against the rich light of the sun that would not let go of the day. What a perfect way to end a year.

My day was less perfect though. My coach potato day was blown away by an emergency back at the office and I spent most of the day on conference call. However, all was not lost. Bravo and I made it out for a brief hike just as the sun was settling in. And, as they say, "all is well that ends well". Today certainly ended that way for me. The only thing that topped this view was dinner and a New Year's celebration with my family in front of a roaring fire. Yes, silly hats and obnoxious noisemakers were involved much to the dogs' chagrin.

Happy New Year to you. My hope for you is that 2013 will be a year of great health, happiness, love and peace for each of you. You are very special friends and I hope that you have a very special year. You deserve such.


This image is not to my liking but I wanted to post something so that I could say that I wish you the best of the New Year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.