The Blood Count

Tonight book club was in Heaton Park to watch Dracula, The Blood Count.  It's the fourth time I've seen Feelgood Theatre perform and I loved it.  I watched the rain all day - and watched people dropping out of the event - but 7 hardy bookworms braved a night with vampires, and we didn't really get that wet.

It's a promenade performance so we started at the cafe and all walked into Heaton Hall for the first scene, out into the gardens, into the middle of the park amongst the bushes and through the park's creepy dark tunnel.

As we walked through the tunnel, I swear something grabbed my leg - a rat, a stick, a vampire - or maybe the power of suggestion.  I screamed at the top of my voice and I only realised when we reached the next scene that my phone must have fallen out of my pocket as I jumped!  A million to one chance that a fellow bookworm was using her torch in the tunnel and happened to find it!  Just as I was patting my pockets realising I had lost it, the organiser was waving it around to the audience.  I was so lucky - but no longer seem able to use the collage option on my camera :(

And guess what, I was sat next to the actress Julie Hesmondhalgh.

Quote for today:
But we are strong, each in our purpose, and we are all more strong together.
- Bram Stoker

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.