Grounded, unlike the mist..

I was up early this morning in order to make my way to Benbecula airport for the first flight to Glasgow.  

This was not part of my original plan for our long weekend in Uist but once the Prime Ministerial meeting with the FM was confirmed  it was clear I should go.   That required a last minute Loganair booking as the only means to get me there.

However when Cathleen (who was driving me ) and I left the house at 7.00 am  the mist was as thick as I have ever seen it here and it didn’t let up all the way north.   It was obvious when we got to the airport that nothing was going to land in such  conditions and very quickly the assembled passengers were told that the incoming flight wouldn’t leave Glasgow.  .

The only possible alternative would have been the boat from Lochboisdale to Mallaig  and a dash by car as that ferry - which was due to leave at 7.00 - was also delayed by the weather conditions.   But it stayed in port till 11.30 .

So I literally just couldn’t go , which was annoying but doubly so because around 11.00 it started to clear (despite being told by the airport staff that it was likely to last all day and most of tomorrow) and by lunchtime we were walking in sunshine  along the Prince’s Strand on Eriskay and past the lovely old graveyard on that island  where the great priest, poet and folklorist  Maighstir Ailein is buried.  

Though I have to admit that was more than compensation.

(My three pictures , from the top, show the view from the house at 7.00 am, the bank of retreating mist along Loch Eynort at 11.30 am and the Eriskay graveyard at 1.30, with Barra in the background.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.