this luminous life.

By Laura

I keep forgetting this isn't a real, live creature.
It startles me nearly every time I see it.

I need to start paying attention to the little things.
My spirits are often lifted when I find a note,
randomly hear a song I enjoy, discover more light,
receive an overdue phone call from a friend,
get a postcard in the mail, watch a good movie,
have a quick rendezvous with a loved one,
spend time with my dog or cat, observe my frogs,
stargaze with my friends, do cartwheels in the grass,
taste a good chai tea, lay in a warm bed,
carry on a conversation for hours, dance,
find a new book that caters to my interests,
drive on a warm day with the windows rolled down,
purchase my favorite candy, make a child smile,
take a photograph I like, etc. Life is good.

What small thing makes you smile?

__________
a year ago: split weather stones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.