Commentary

Day 5 of the Scottish Six Day Orienteering Festival and we were at Craig a Barns, one of those marmite orienteering areas which competitors either love or hate.  It was kind to me today but I did make several small errors, such as losing concentration when heading for a re-entrant which I misread as in the woodland but was actually in an open area.  It cost me 3/4 minutes and since I was less than ninety seconds behind Sue who won today, cost me first place and put me in third.

As I headed out to take several hundred blips of the competition, I passed the commentary van and persuaded Andy and Chris to put down the microphones for a minute and give me a wave.  They've done an excellent job this week of channelling the excitement and I was even interviewed when I finished yesterday!

Final day tomorrow and then we'll be headed home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.