The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

High Penn (Sunday 4th August 2019)

High Penn is a nature reserve that sits on the boundary of Calne to the East. I went there a year ago with the Spotlight Kid and have been meaning to go back ever since. On Sunday I finally did. It contains two ponds, both of which I managed to find this time and surprised a heron at the smaller pond of the two. There were masses of butterflies and hoverflies at the brambles and other wildflowers, and after a while a gentle mild rain fell onto the ponds making rings in the water among the mosquitos and water boatmen. I did get a bit lost without a map and ventured into a wood that lies below the ponds, where I took this blip, but managed to track my way back to the right path, the larger pond and back to the car, refreshed by some delicious blackberries I found along the way.

L.
5.8.2019 (1742 hr)

Blip #3002 (#2752 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #002
Blips/Extras In 2019 #179/265 + #067/100 Extras
Day #3418 (763 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2146 (#1987 + 159 in archived blips)

Calne series
Trees series
Flora series

A Walk At High Penn, 4 August 2019 (Flickr album of 24 photos)

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Red) and Pentax D FA Macro 100mm F2.8 WR lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Melvin Van Peebles - Mojo Woman (1971)
This is my pick from Cerys Matthew's show on 6 Music. It comes from Sweet Sweetback’s Baadasssss Song, the soundtrack to a film made by Melvin Van Peebles that came out before the film to raise awareness. The musicians were unknown at the time but went on to become Earth, Wind And Fire. Huey P. Newton celebrated and welcomed the film's revolutionary implications, and Sweetback became required viewing for members of the Black Panther Party.
After playing it Cerys wondered out loud who the uncredited lead singer was. I had been asking myself the same thing but to me she sounded very like PP Arnold. I wonder if that will ever be confirmed?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.