For your eyes only

The local agricultural show has this tempting spread every year, draped in clingfilm and most definitely not for eating. I should add that refreshments were also available elsewhere and just as good!

My patchwork cushion did well (in its class of two items!) but it's sad to see the general decline in participants overall. It is a great deal of extra work for farmers at a busy time of year and maybe the extra kudos (and money) gained by a prize in the ring counts for less than before? I don't know, but it's a shame.  No excuse for the wine/jam/veg/handicraft makers though.

L and I went to an interesting talk about nutrition and supplements. Our food is vastly different to that of 2 or 3 generations ago and so energy dense and nutritionally empty that the exponential rise in chronic degenerative diseases is inevitable. Who lets the processed food companies get away with this murder? Where are the home grown veg everyone had not so long ago?

I think I may have discovered why the agricultural show is declining ... :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.