Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Fast

My weekend jaunt continued with a potter about Barton upon Humber, which has a nice line in vernacular brick buildings (extra).

I’d been weighing up whether to walk back across the Humber Bridge but the wind was still up a bit so I hopped on a bus instead. Of course, from the bus I had a fine view of all the runners, cyclists and people quite happily pushing buggies along the walkway so I then felt a bit foolish.

Over the other side I got off at Hessle and walked back down to the water through the Humber Bridge Country Park, which I’d last visited almost exactly five years ago. I then followed the footpath to North Ferriby that follows the narrow strip of land between the railway and the water, all the while pausing for views back to the bridge (extra). It was still very breezy so what should have been a good spot for butterflies was fairly quiet, other than the currently ubiquitous Painted Lady.

At Ferriby I headed into the village to take in some more football: Hull City Ladies were hosting Manchester United Women U21s in a pre-season friendly/testimonial for Hull player Ellice Jackman at North Ferriby FC’s ground. I was impressed that the partnership that has been struck between Ferriby and Hull; all the facilities were open, there was merchandise and with an attendance of 312 they were very well patronised. It was a fairly open game (extra) which finished 2-4.

Then I caught the train to Brough where I had 45 minutes to wait for the train to Leeds, so I popped back down to the water and watched this vessel, Fast Wil, on it’s way to Goole docks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.