Charing Cross Road

I spent the day in London today.  The main part of my visit was to see the Cindy Sherman exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery.

They seem to have put the prices up for exhibitions (and done away with concessions for OAPs in the process), but it was a good exhibition which I enjoyed. I was familiar with her work,  particularly the earlier stuff like the "Untitled Film Stills" from 1977-80 and the "Rear Projections" and "Centrefolds" from 1980-81: these were used as study examples when I was teaching GCSE Photography.  However I was not familiar with some of her more recent work.  She still uses herself as the subject, dressing up in character, but the work seems to me to be more complex and sophisticated.

After an enjoyable cup of tea in the gallery's basement cafe, I then went for a wander with my camera. As usual the streets were busy with people all heading purposefully in different directions.

London is a great place for people watching.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.