BrandonK4

By BrandonK4

The Dales!!!

I have lived in the yorkshire dales for nearly 13 years now, and have been into photography for around 4 of those, it is a really lovely place and great for landscapes, which I have recently got really into, as i really enjoy walking and the time alone to think about things. Anyway where i live is a lovely forest on top of a small hill, and everysince i started shooting ive wanted to go up there with a tripod and spend a few hours in there, so today was the day i decided was going to finally do it, it was a misty day so i thought the forest could look quite eerie and atmospheric.

So i set of up the hill, 40D, 17-40, 70-200mm, tripod and a ND filter all in tow. after about 5 minutes it started spitting, though I persisted as i know the 40D has some weather sealing and the 17-40 is weather seal, the further up the hill i got the more it rained, after about 20 minutes i thought "sod this" and turned around, as i set off back i thought id take a detour through the fields, i then cam across one of the many small streams that are in Hellifield so then it occurred to me i haven't done a blip in absolutely ages so thought i do one that sumes up where i live.

I stood in the middle of the stream (god bless wellies), but my 40D on my tripod, and put a 4 stop ND filter on my 17-40, composed and set of the 2 second timer, I did 2 exposures 1 for the sky and one for the foreground and then blended them, I like the way it has come out. I decided to convert it into black and white as i think it adds an extra dimension to the image and kind of adds to the bleakness.

Yeah so thats my first blip in a very long time and hopefully will keep on top of it..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.