Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A very wet day

The day started bright and clear but then it soon clouded over and started raining. It has rained all day and been so wet, what a miserable summer's day, it feels more like autumn. 

The bone we got from the butcher yesterday was a huge hit with Xena. It was massive, almost half her size and we never heard a sound out of her for nearly 2 hours last night as she gnawed away and relieved the discomfort of her itchy teeth. However, she had a very restless night and would not settle and then woke at 4am so it was a tiring night for us again. 

Early this morning Luke and I took her to the vet for her second and final inoculation. We were delighted to see that she has put on a good amount of weight since we last saw him 10 days ago, going from 6.1kg to 6.9kg. Gavin kept telling me I wasn’t feeding her enough as her ribs show but she is a perfect weight and is perfectly healthy, she is just a slim built breed. Rather that than an over weight dog, I think. So in a week’s time we can finally start taking her out for walks, what a relief that will be as I am getting fed up not being able to do that. I think she is also getting bored. Extra of her on Luke's lap.

Just like Murdoch, Xena dislikes going out in the rain. I confess at one point when it was raining hard and I realised she needed to go out for a wee I went out with her with a large golf umbrella which I held over her. Luke just shakes his head and says ‘spoilt princess’. Well rather that then her not going outside and going backwards with her toilet training!

Thomas got back from his holiday in Spain. He had a lovely time and is now at a loose end until university starts in October.  Adam has now left Costa Rica and  moved on to Cuba. He is there for a week before moving on to Miami (for which he needed a special visa coming in from Cuba, as the Americans still don’t like Cuba!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.