Guest blip

Well, today turned out to be the first day in almost ten years when I didn't take a photograph of anything at all with any device.

We got up early, packed away the tent while it was still dry, then headed back north-east-wards. We had been thinking of stopping at Threave Castle for a visit, but by the time we got that far along the A75 the rain had reached almost biblical proportions, so we stopped for a coffee and a bacon roll at Dumfries and ploughed onwards. By the time we turned off the M74 there was a considerable amount of surface water on the road - started to aquaplane a couple of times. Slowed down considerably but of course other drivers didn't - ooh, I do hate being tailgated when driving on a liquid surface.

Got back in one piece to find that Micros**t had locked me out of my laptop - after much fiddling had to re-set the damned thing which meant having to reinstall all programs/apps etc. Was so tired by then that I forget that I hadn't taken a photo on any device at all. Neither had DaveH - it was just that kind of a day.

So here you have a charming study of a coot family, courtesy of my old friend CarolineJay, who was ambling around in Ward Jackson park in Hartlepool while we were thrashing home though the rainstorm. I'm not at all sure what they're eating - hope it's not plastic! (Curiously, I note that Hartlepool is on approx the same latitude as the southernmost tip of Scotland.) Many thanks, CJ!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.