Flood Alert

It has rained all day.

1. The blip. I got to the Civic early, and took this photo as I sat in the car listening to the Friday poem on the radio. Seamus Heaney, one of my favourites. A good way to start the day.

2. Manchester, and a haircut at the end of the day. I got there early, so had a look at the nearby Peterloo commemoration before heading to the hairdressers. The excellent Commoners Choir (extra), all part of “Rebel Karaoke”. With J, who has had a very heavy cold all week, decided not to stay in a very wet city centre, but to head home.

3. I am on call this week. Got a flood alert for the Lower Irwell catchment when we got home this evening. I’ve been reminding myself about the multi-agency flood plan, not something I do every Friday night. River levels are now starting to fall. Phew !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.