The weather cock and glider

I returned to the 'new' cemetery and went to sit on a seat at the bottom of the slope nestling in the hedge. I had my long lens and was hoping to see one of the green woodpeckers flying. The sun was shining again with strong breezes bringing in the westerly clouds intermittently.

A woodpecker did flit down from one of the trees lining the avenue but was far away and not worth recording. There were fewer birds of any sort today which was interesting.

I spotted this glider spiralling upwards on thermals to get above the hills. There are several gliding clubs nearby sited on Second World War airfields.
Not long after I saw a few more gliders returning on the wind apparently heading in exactly in exactly the same direction. One of them took a path which aligned exactly with the weather vane or cock on top of the spire of the Chapel of Rest, which somehow seemed a remarkably unlikely event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.