The Daily Record

By havohej

Eric Clapton Timepieces The Best of Eric Clapton

Eric Clapton 'Timepieces: The Best of Eric Clapton' (RSO/Polydor Records 1982)

In Dundee, every time my mum and dad were out, this was the 80s when it was OK to leave a 10 year old in the house, I would locate 'Layla' by Derek and the Dominos on 12" and slap it on the white, everything had to be white, even the TV, integrated death deck.

I loved the main riff in 'Layla' and would play it at 33, 45 and 78. Even now I'm surprised when the slow mid/end section begins because I would scratch the record back and forth just so I could hear the main riff again and again. I think I completed screwed my dad's stylus and his record and eventually I was found out. That was not a happy day.....

'Clapped Out Clapton' as a certain 'Hairy' used to call him is one of those guys; blokes, particularly a certain type of guitar playing bloke, want to be him and women want to be with him. Lu has always wished she could duet with Slow Hand on 'Promises', amongst other things I'm sure....

Summing up Clapton isn't easy but he's a national treasure who has survived tragedy and addiction, his influence can be felt and heard throughout rock music and he's a living legend who is the only person to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame three times; as a member of The Yardbirds and Cream and as a solo artist.

This LP collects his solo singles from 1970 until 1978 and, even though I find his solo output to be inessential compared to Cream, there's not a duff track on here.

Peace

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.