Grandfather Mountain

For our anniversary today we spent the majority of the day on Grandfather Mountain.

Started out by heading straight for the top and the Mile High Swinging Bridge. It doesn’t sway as much as the old wooden one did but it still sways and I was surprised as how much it disoriented my walking.

It was a warm enough day that when we went down the mountain to where they have some animal habitats, I made use of my walker. It was a good thing as the paths were steep.

We saw Carolina, the black bear, having a snack. A couple of River Otters showing off for us. Elk and a couple of Bald Eagles (see extra)

Before calling it a day we also went to the Linville Caverns which were very interesting and as they stay a steady 53°F/11.6°C it was a great place to go in the late afternoon when it was hot.

It was a wonderful day but as I lay here in bed at the end of it, my left foot & lower leg are on fire with neuropathy pain. Hoping I can get to sleep soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.