Food on the hoof

By evening suddenly realised I had no food for the evening - I guess the 'unusual' public holiday followed by yesterday's day out had somehow thrown my planning out of gear.

So headed out to Ottobeuren with Luna for the evening walk but hadn't got out of 1st gear when I spotted the two deer on our horse field. They ignored me as I accelerated past in a rush to get walk & shopping done by 8:00 pm when the last supermarkets close until Monday.


We often have deer very close to the house or sharing a field with the horses. So long as we act normally, talking, music on, Luna barking, machines working, they are uninterested. The second silence sets in, they start looking around for danger.

And so it was as I suddenly decided I probably wouldn't get a Blip during the walk and did a U-turn back towards the house, slowing down & then stopping opposite the deer. Immediately their heads came up, they took one look and hopped into the forest.

After the walk, managed to get one of the last few remaining bits of meat left on the shelves. Yes, cheap questionable quality cuts but no other choice. Had to ensure they were well cooked on the BBQ and because it was late, simply added a courgette and threw a plate of chips in the oven.

I could have gone for a vegetarian option. The supermarket has now loaded the first large set of shelves with Christmas Stollen and the like Would not have been a problem as we still have lots of Christmas decorations hanging in the sitting room & there are only 130 days left to go.

A fresh venison joint could have been another option and indeed probably the healthiest of all, but for the moment I prefer to see Bambi & Co enjoying themselves.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.