NEWCASTLE CITYSCAPE IN MINIATURE

Had a couple of things to pick up today.  First of all I got the bus to the Metrocentre to collect an online purchase from Fat Face.  ( That's a shop - not a person ! )

Then I got the bus to Newcastle to go to the Central Station to collect my train tickets from a self service machine.

Next I had a wander up Grainger Street where there are a few charity shops.  One of them sells everything for £1.  I found 4 things.  The lady actually closed the shop while I was in the changing room as it was 5pm.  I had totally lost track of time.  Anyway she served me and I was able to purchase my items. Then a quick trip to Tesco before coming home.

I took my blip shot just outside the train station. It shows The Grainger Town Sculptural Map. This 3 dimensional bronze sculpture  was installed in 2003 and is  "a conceptual representation of Grainger Town, with buildings and landmarks reduced to their essential forms". It lights up after dark.

Its not really a good fit for Tiny Tuesday but its a miniature so I have tagged it. Thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting

Musical Link - Coming Home NEWCASTLE

One other thing I did today was to hide some childrens books in the Metrocentre and train station.  I read about a Facebook group   " LOOK for a BOOK North East England "  which is encouraging children to hide books which when found are read and then rehidden.  Its to encourage children to enjoy reading.  As I don't have any young children to join in the fun I decided to do it myself. ( I'm not the only one who joined the group to do this.) I have quite a few books which belonged to Becky and Neil and today I left 8 of them.  You can see in my Extras the note which I left with the books.  The theory is that an adult posts a photo of the child who found the book on the Facebook page.  And then they rehide the book. Its great to see all the happy children holding the books which have been found so far.

Knee wasn't too painful today until I had walked for a while - the TENS machine seems to be really helping. And my headache wasn't too bad today either so things are really starting to improve ( not before time )

Steps today - 7,638                        

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.