ColdCoffee

By ColdCoffee

Eco Anxiety

In the face of our current climate crisis a new phrase has been coined: Eco Anxiety.
This is something I am definitely struggling with. It seems that in the last 18 months there has been an intense increase in our awareness of the severity of the climate crisis, and the imminent need for action to prevent catastrophic damage to our environment. During that time I have been pregnant, given birth and have begun to raise the best little human I have ever met. I can’t stop myself feeling scared for him. I have no idea what his future will hold, what the world will be like when he’s grown up and how much he may have to struggle and suffer because of choices precious generations have made.
There are times when I feel completely overwhelmed and enraged that preventable damage has not been prevented because of greed and selfishness. I have had complete melt downs full of fear, helplessness and guilt for bringing a baby into a world with what seems like an uncertain future.
I have heard about people going on birth strike because they think we shouldn’t be bringing more people into an overcrowded planet, and I have actually had to sit at a table with someone ranting about how people shouldn’t be reproducing whilst I held a 4 month old Little Boo on my lap and tried not to cry.
Whenever I have an eco anxiety attack, I end up at the same 3 conclusions:
We cannot choose to go voluntarily extinct
We must raise children who will fight for the planet and innovate to find solutions to the problems
We must not let go of hope that change can and will happen, and if we aren’t hoping for our children then what is there to fight for?

So, in a bid to manage my eco anxiety at the moment I am trying to take practical steps to make changes that may feel small but could be huge if millions of us did the same. One of those steps is Eco-Bricking and helping a local school to build with the bricks. That is why my car looked like this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.