Next contestant please.

"Your name?"
"Brian".
"Your occupation?"
"Frog Herd."

Rain stopped play yesterday; Jerra, kindly popped round and scalped "the back grass" today. It was somewhat akin to 1st cut silage. Recently I've seen a multitude of froglings scampering around the lawn, often "mob-handed" like London Coppers used to be - always knocked around in pairs. We herded so many off the lawn and to safety I think next time we'll corral them for a census, there must have been WAY over a dozen; and that was:-
1. What we saw.
2. Only within the lawn area.
I saw three climbing this edging strip. Must have been a bit of a thrutch, by the time I got in & out with camera there were still 2. I think #3 had snuck through the gap twixt wall & edging.
Later - extra - more of the same - I went to dip some pond water for the insectivores, spotted these and thought I'd see if I could do any better than last time. SLIGHTLY better, but very "silhouetteish". I see the tadpole is even less developed than the last I saw, which did have back legs; I wonder if some over-winter as tadpoles? Any of you naturalists know? As opposed to guess?
;¬)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.