If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Bombus terrestris

Well I am identifying it as Bombus terrestris (Buff tailed Bumble bee).  Somebody (you know who you are) will  be saying but the tail is white not buff.  This is true however it is only the Queen which has a true buff tail, workers often have a white tail.  I am basing my identification on a tinge of buff showing on the boundary between the black and white.  This shows more in my other shots.

The Lavender (Lavendula spica) was alive with Bumble bees the majority being the same as this one.  We were as usual prepping the Lodge it was one of those days where nothing seems to go quite as it should, the deep freeze and 'fridge needed defrosted, then just to complicate matters the trouble we have been having with the pressure in the hot water cylinder reappeared.  I did make time for a few minutes shooting the bees otherwise I might have been blipless. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.