Kipsie

By Kipsie

Stuart certainly knows his onions

and I was impressed. I met Stuart earlier in the day when we were displaying our entries. We compared competition in the onion class & I told him then they looked the best. His first year of entering anything in the show, likewise me. I got a second, 2 3rds & a better luck next time with my strawberry jam, so I was very happy. I actually had veggies worthy of entering in a few other classes but did'nt know what the standard was likely to be. I have a list forming for next year already. I reckon I have room for a row of dahlias & gladdies. I quite like dahlias, & mum likes gladdies so they will find a home even if they don't make showing standards.
What else happened yesterday .. After registering etc. at the show hubby & I went into Newton Abbot, he'd bought & given me an early birthday present, well 2 actually. A St Christopher to replace the one I've somehow lost, & a new music centre. The pendant was perfect, but the sound was far from perfect with the music centre. I took it back into Argos where they gave me a complete monetary refund. Nipped to Asda, I love their full fat Greek yogurt. Back home I made a chicken mussaman curry that I could finish off later. Had lunch went down & picked mum up from CK, back to Chudders & walked up to the Chudfest Garden & Produce Show to check how I'd got on with my entries. Entries for the veg & fruit classes were a bit thin on the ground considering all the allotment plots are taken on both sites in Chudleigh. I wish I'd entered a few more classes but was happy with a 2nd place for my Borlotti beans, a 3rd for my potatoes, & courgette, orange & walnut chutney. My strawberry jam was overboiled so lost flavour ..... according to the judges remark. A list is already forming for next years show so I hope it goes ahead. It would be such a pity if the show folds through lack of support. An elderly gentleman from Trusham recognised Mum from when my parents had the pub in CK. He was quite a character ... in the morning I spotted him turning over the entry cards to see who had entered what before placing his entries. We debated why his carrots only came second. I did'nt have the answer either, his definitely looked better to me, but what do I know. It was lovely that Mum saw a few old faces that she reconised.

Back home to Mussaman curry & all the bits, before dropping Mum back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.