JimNotJon

By JimNotJon

Roll away the stone..

Alas, I found it really difficult to have time for a photograph today, so in readiness I took my camera to work with me in my van just in case I found something of interest. You could put it down to sod's law but without my camera on me I often see interesting sights that I think to myself (sometimes out loud, it get's lonely on your own sometimes!) that'll make a good photo, but today I saw very little.
However on my last delivery, in Binbrook, East Lincolnshire, I remembered there being an old mill stone at the top of a hill on the back roads back from Waltham near Grimsby. I remember it fondly as when I was a child (and still to this day) my Dad points it out to me :) .
I popped up there, and set about a long expsure of 30 seconds to capture a few stars and painted the mill stone with a torch. It's not perfect and had I more time I would have liked to have got some star trails, for next time maybe.

The stone I believe was from Binbrook windmill. Binbrook used to have a few water mills too but given this was at the top of a hill, it is more likely to have been driven by wind than water. Binbrook Windmill was a handsome tall six-sailer with a gallery, built in 1879, which ceased work in 1938. The Air Ministry considered demolishing both Binbrook and Waltham Windmills during the war since they were seen as possible waypoints for German bombers. Waltham (built at about the same time) is still a working mill, but unfortunately Binbrook didn't survive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.