Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Roe Deer

Was getting withdrawal symptoms from birding but found it hard to drag my husband out of bed this morning to go out. Eventually we ended up at Brockholes near Preston. We've not been for a very long time and had a nice day with some nice sightings. We walked along the river looking for kingfishers but were out of luck again. Plenty of herons and a few swans....
so we moved on to Boilton Wood where we spent a lovely half hour watching the woodland birds and bank voles hoovering up the seeds that someone had left for them. The bank voles were so quick I only managed a couple of blurry shots before I gave up, but they were nice to see. 
We then walked around number 1 pit and sat in the far hide near the motorway and watched a pair of hobbies in the distance swoop and dive cacthing insects and dragonflies I assume. Far too far away for a shot but great to see and another new bird to add to my annual list. 
As we rounded the corner to walk back towards the visitor centre for a bit of lunch, three roe deer pop out of the undergrowth and crossed the path in front of us, one posing for my blip today - how very kind. 
I don't get to see deer very often so it was a no brainer as far as my blip was concerned. 
Back home now and watching the end of the day's Test match - England seem to be doing quite well for a change and there is a glimmer of hope that we could draw the series, even though the Ashes are gone. 

Will catch up with journals a little later. Enjoy the rest of the weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.