Oyez, Oyez, Oyez!

The Town Crier, Wells Cathedral, Somerset

“The word "Oyez" means "hear ye," which is a call for silence and attention. Oyez is from an Anglo-Norman word for listen.” https://simple.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Town_crier

Over the Mendips this morning, on a gorgeous blue sky day, to Wells for a guided tour of The Old Deanery, open to the public as part of the Heritage Open Days scheme. But more of that tomorrow...

On my way to the market, the town crier walked past, and when I asked if I could take his photo, he was more than happy to oblige and struck a pose. So how could I not use his photo as my blip for today?! The Old Deanery and vintage cars can wait until tomorrow...

Back home, I made the most of the sumptuous weather (the BBC weatherman’s own words!), and read and dozed the afternoon away in the garden...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.