Showcasing CHARTS

I was in Oban late this afternoon to, amongst other things, attend the showcase event for CHARTS, the Culture, Heritage and Arts Assembly in Argyll and Bute at which I had been asked to saw a few words.

It was being held in St John’s Episcopal Cathedral but was also being live streamed not just around the area, but to anyone interested anywhere.

The Walking Theatre Company opened it with a clever re-working of the Macbeth story and were followed by members of the Oban HIgh School Pipe Band. There were specially made films, poems and songs and they had a link planned to Jura though I had to leave before that was due to happen.

I don’t think I had been in the Cathedral since I sang evensong there as a choir boy, visiting from St Ninian’s , Troon which must be over fifty years ago. It is a fine building , made even more impressive by some recent modernisation which seems to have been sympathetically done.

All in all a good event and I am glad I braved the wind and increasingly torrential rain to get there. The journey back home was equally wild.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.