Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Street Corner Series

Smiling and taking a break.  Pattie's Home Plate is closing, so we went in, just because. I love this place, it's, I don't know, it's a cafe that does burgers, tuna melts, that kind of thing, at a counter or in a booth, they sell yarn, there's a community puzzle on the go, they're also an Avon Lady... pretty much everything is on sale for a dollar or not much more around the store, fixtures, fittings, stock, as they get ready to close...  made me sad.

I was in the St Johns neighborhood to hang out and catch up with ExtraDays.  A lovely afternoon.  Delicious lunch of homemade butternut squash soup and cornbread at her place.  Talking, talking, more talking. :-). Went to see the Belmont Goats, I first blipped them back in 2014 , the herd is still going strong and has moved a few places since then, hopefully St Johns will be home for them for a while.

Rain.  This is the first rain I've seen since May.  Rain is a rarity in CA, as you may know, so when I was woken this morning by a sound, half recognizing it, curious, ooh, rain!  So nice, the fresh, fresh air of Portland rain.  One of many thing I miss.  Although like anything, sun in California or rain in Oregon, it's like that Edie Bouvier Beale quote: "I'm mad about animals, but raccoons and cats become a little bit boring. I mean, for too long a time."  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.