Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Fruit cake and rusks

Preparation for visitors next week.

I've never really been much of a baker.  I didn't develop the skills as a teenager or young adult, and then when the girls were young and I did try, my efforts were not very successful, and not well received.  But it's never too late to start.

Recently I'd developed a hankering for the fruit cakes that mum used to make - they were always (at least for me) a popular and memorable part of our touring holidays.  I found a recipe that I had hand written into a notebook (amongst other recipes which were definitely from her, including chocolate crackles and date Krispies) so felt this was probably her recipe.  It's very simple, but that was mum's way - she was a very straight forward person.

We had a first attempt just about 10 days ago, and ended up with a cake that was definitely over cooked, but still quite tasty.  Today, W wanted to cook some rusks (a South African dunking biscuit) so whilst the oven was on, and we were in the cooking mood, we decided to have another go at the cake.  Better - but I reckon still overcooked.  Mum had an Aga, and she would cook the cake in the bottom oven overnight, so we are struggling to adapt the heat and timing for our fan assisted oven.

But we are enjoying the trials.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.