Oban

Unfortunately we didn’t make it over to Rhum. It was very wet so we didn’t think it would be pleasant walking for 4 hours on the island. It’ll still be there next year

We headed down to Oban. The EU funded a 2 way road and cycle track to Mallaig so we made better time than in the old days. We’d hoped to stop at Glenfinnan to walk to the monument of Charles Edward Stuart landing in 1745 but the Hogwarts Express must have been due as the car park was full, as were any available spots on the roadside.

There were no freedom camping places around either so we are on a site is south of Oban along a narrow single track road. I am almost certain it is the same place I camped with my parents and my dog about 60 years ago. It is much bigger now but still peaceful, up a hill overlooking the island of Kerrera.

There is no WiFi or phone signal so I’m going to have to take a walk to post this.

That’s our van below taken from a walk we took up the hill behind the site.

Sent from my iPhone

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.