Beirut Express

Delighted to be cavorting with Funky Karen today. I'd even got up in time to get tonight's dinner into the slow cooker and then catch the bus to get to the leisure centre. I sat next to a lady from Coalville while waiting for the class to start - a most unusual event for me as I'm always late. She told me that the Hermitage Leisure Centre in Whitwick isn't being updated and the inspiration has gone, so she was looking forward to trying out Loughborough. I gave Karen a glowing tribute, and yes, when I spotted the lady during the class, she seemed to be enjoying herself.

After class and coffee, I walked into town via Queen's Park. A new pop up restaurant has opened at the corner of Angel Yard and Market Street. Food looks incredible. I can thoroughly recommend the falafels.

Only today did I notice a plaque on the wall at Angel Yard that said it was the site of Ladybird Book publishing from 1936-1973. The Old Curiosity Shop in Hathern stocks several of these books. Might get one or two for  young William.

Bought prawns for Saturday and popped into the Berber Shop. Aziz asked me to mind it while he  went to the bank. Half an hour later... but by then it was time for the bus home.

Extras are of three dogs gazing longingly at each other on Market Street and of Kath, a stallholder on the market. She tells me she's 80. She doesn't look it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.