Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Forever friends

When a friend calls and wants to know if I am up for a road trip to Charleston what do I say?!     Well, yeah!  

 This is my friend Melody and I at the outside seating area  of the restaurant at Shem Creek Bar and Grill where we ate lunch today.    Shem Creek is a nice, wide creek and runs into Charleston Harbor and is a little bit north of Charleston across the Cooper River.   The seafood restaurants line the creek are great and they were packed today with people enjoying the COOL WEATHER!!!     Yes, it was a wonderful 72 and cloudy!      Heaven!  

Melody wanted to attend a funeral of a friend who used to live  near her here at home but her hubby was not feeling up to the drive and he did not want her to ride two hours there and back by herself.   So she knows me and asked me to go with her.   In spite of having to attend the funeral we had a good day of chatting and just being together.   Her nephew lives in the area where we had lunch so he met us there.  I have not seen him since he was about four years old and now he is grown and engaged.  He took this photo of us!  

Melody and I have been friends for 42 years..we started work at the electric cooperative a month apart in 1977.   She has finally decided she is ready to retire and has seven more days to work with a special sendoff being planned on her last day.  I will be crashing that party!

Needless to say, we have a few little outings planned!!    She loves wandering in antique and junk stores as much as I do!   I wonder how much work she is going to get done this week!       

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.