Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny Tuesday - Native

I thought I'd go with a rather benign image today - a native Eastern Bumble Bee (Bombus impatiens).  I like these fuzzy creatures - they are so docile and never mind how close I get.  This is a male, one who may soon be lucky enough to mate with the queen. And in the meantime, he is doing a very important service to we humans by being an excellent pollinator.  

My other choice was a very tiny spider, also native, but I decided to give the arachnaphobes a pass.  I've posted him on Flickr, so go ahead and have a look - c'mon, you know you want to!  Click HERE

Thanks for the love on my hummingbird yesterday.  I thought about blipping her again today, and may regret not doing so...because I believe she left today.  I saw her visiting the feeder and remaining flowers in the garden all morning.  But after I returned from the gym around 1, I did not see her again.  So, I hope that she is on her way south, fortified with five days of good food and rest.  And next summer, I'll be keeping an eye out for a one-eyed hummer.  See one last shot of her in Extra.  Bittersweet.

Thanks to Barking for hosting TinyTuesday this month!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.