Return to the North

By Viking

A world upside down

It has been an upside down sort of day. I was up at 4.30 ish this morning with a reoccurrence of the tonsilitis which I had just finished 10 days of antibiotics for! I could hear the rain lashing down outside and gale force winds giving it a good go too. Not the best auspices for the start of our journey up to Golden Bay for our 'jollies'!

The rain followed us up pretty much and after a nice lunch in Motueka we tackled the Takaka hill (not my sister's favourite part of the trip!!!) and got to our holiday home mid afternoon.
It is in a lovely spot overlooking the fields surrounding Takaka and looking out to see on one side. I was determined to blip the view even though the weather was rubbish until early evening.
But as I sat looking out at the view I saw bellbirds, waxeyes, black fantails, tui, hawks, a family of quails and numerous other birds. Of course none of them would play ball and stay still long enough to photograph, until this clever waxeye that is.

The view went out the window (so to speak) and the waxeye won!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.