28102019 Cova de Bolumini

This shot is from Cova de Bolumini (cave) on the side of a mountain Mariola.

So yes, we've been hiking today with the dogs.

We started from Alfafara (bit over hour's drive from our house). We knew it was going to be cloudy day, so it suited perfectly for some climbing.

And climbing we did. The route started steeply. We manage to do 550 meters in first 30 minutes. Our whole route was 10km with elevation of 500 meters and we did that in 3 hours. So it was a sweaty start. It was only 13°C, but I was soaked.

We had a lunch on a picnic area in Font de Mariola. Then we continued to the Iberian Iron Age settlement of El Cabeçó de Mariola at 1049 meters above sea. The landscapes that lay around us were fantastic.

From the top we continue to the other side of the mountain and followed a small footpath on the side of the steep mountain to the Bolumini caves (in picture). Wow.

One never knows what to expect even if I see pictures of the route online. Still this blew my mind. I've never been in a place like that. I'm so happy we found that. I saw some pictures and thought that might be cool, but it was much more in real life. The picture only tells some of it.

These caves were quite hard to find. There was a partial signing to this route. We got off route so many times and ended up making our own route, which was just fine, but to think that there's something like this to see and the tourist office is not taking an advantage of it. Sad really.

Dogs are snoring happily. I feel this route on my legs and I bet they do too. They were all so happy and the whole trio got back to the car walking by themselves. They got some treats on our lunch spot and some treats when we were back home and lots of water during of course. I think they'll enjoy tomorrow sleeping happily too.

I posted few pictures to Insta if you wanna take a look:
https://www.instagram.com/heidihhfin/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.