Dorothy with her older siblings

My brother has a large photo of our mother and her brother and older sister, which must have been taken in a studio in the very early 1920s, as she was born in 1917. I have never seen this photo before, as my brother found it tucked away in a drawer after she died. It is in an old fashioned oval frame.

So that I could take this photograph of the photo, he removed it from the frame, and we laid it down. I would have taken it in its frame on the wall, but with curved glass over the photo, there was no way of not getting reflections. 

As can be seen, there is some damage to the print, and I managed to remove the flaws from over the children. I am delighted that the photo has survived and if I can assist it in surviving longer by digital means, I'll be really happy.

After taking the photo, and returning the portrait to its place on my brother's wall, we went for brunch at a nearby cafe, before S and I returned to Auckland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.