Oblong-leaved Sundew

I don't often get a chance to explore the Surrey heaths, but after a morning spent surveying a rather dull area of arable land, Pete and I spent an amazing afternoon at Thursley Common NNR - a popular venue for both families and naturalists which has a mix of woodland, dry sandy heath, pools and extensive mires full of white beak-sedge, bog asphodel and sundews, not to mention the rare marsh clubmoss. 

My main image is of oblong-leaved sundew, a very local species which is most frequent on mires in Surrey, Hampshire and Dorset. Like all members of its family, it traps and digests small insects on its very sticky glandular hairs, gaining valuable nutrients that are lacking in its habitat.

Thursley is also renowned for its dragonfly fauna, and we saw a good range of the characteristic species including several small red damselflies and a huge number of keeled skimmers, more than I've ever seen anywhere else in my life. Most were flying around at high speed, perching very briefly before zooming off again in search of food or mating opportunities. The one shown in the extra conveniently came and sat on a seedling pine tree quite close to me. It's definitely got one of its big blue eyes on me!

(posted 5 November 2019)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.