CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Andrew Wood launching his book 'The Word'

Andrew Wood invited me to the launch party of his book ‘The Word’, and of course I arrived a fraction late. He has his back to my camera as he said a few words following an introduction by Charles Landry, another local author, who is standing to the left of Andrew.

Actually Andrew is most renowned for his ceramic artwork, but in the last couple of years he created this new project, which comprises a series of words mounted in large letters on the fence of his home facing the road in the centre of Stroud. The book is a celebration of ‘The Words’ he has exhibited, over the last year recorded in photographs by Andrew’s assistant, Guy de Lotz.

It started just before the 2017 General Election when Andrew’s friend Keith Allen put up some political graffiti on a wall close to Andrew’s home. Andrew had some wood lying around so he created the word ‘VOTE’ in the style of a Hollywood 'sign and attached it to the fence of his home. As he says here on his website ‘Thus begun the biweekly WORD’. You can see many of the resulting words there.

I will post a subsequent blip of the cover of the book, or at least a page or two, on another day which will hopefully illustrate the content. I had intended to take a picture through the windows of this restaurant opposite Andrew’s home showing ‘The Word’ in situ, back on the street where it belongs. Unfortunately it was so hot and humid, the windows of the restaurant had become misted up and opaque. The light outside was approaching dusk and looking now at the images I prefer this snap I took as Andrew spoke because I really love the smilies on the faces of his friends.

Andrew has lived with Parkinson’s Disease for many years but he has no intention of letting it restrict his creative impulses which are formidable. Andrew and I met in the same class at school in 1963 and have been in and out of contact ever since. He came to my last birthday party picnic down on the banks of the River Severn back in August.

Do take a peek at Andrew’s website https://www.andrew-wood.com. You can also watch a short film called 'Andrew Wood presents'’, made by our mutual friend Pip Heywood.


I know that this image will mark another special Blip day for me, and I’m very pleased to share it with an old friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.