Duma the Wonder Cat - 9/20/2008 - 11/14/2019

It was just five days ago when I took this photo of Duma. I knew he was ill and that he had been getting thinner and thinner. But he never seemed like he was in pain. And he remained as loving, funny, affectionate, playful and clever as he always had. Still I knew this day would come. And today it did. 

When I got home from an evening at Shelly's I found Duma lying on my bedroom floor. He had passed away, probably from a seizure. This is often what happens when a cat has severe heart disease as Duma did. He actually lived much longer than was expected when we found out about his condition when he was one year old. He had a high level heart murmur and was diagnosed with idiopathic hypertrophic cardiomyopathy. 

Duma ended up living for over 11 years. In all that time he never acted sick or in pain. He sometimes lacked energy after being active for awhile, but he was always playful and seemed content. And he was very loving and accepted my affection for him in whatever form it took. And he showed his love for me and others too wholeheartedly. He was the best cat I've ever had and I will miss him so very  much. So will Shelly and all of my family and friends who knew him. Everybody loved him and he loved them in return. Rest in peace, Duma.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.