paperTIGER

By papertiger

Enter the Cyclops.

My cat is not insane,
she's just a really good actress.


-- P. C. Cast, Untamed


Today was long. I'd quite like a do over, only I don't really want to live it again, so best not take the risk.

Despite the challenges, there was a funny moment with a group of young people this morning when one girl, in sharing her news about her week, said that she'd had to take her cat to the vet because its third eye got stuck. And I was like What? What? Noooo, no way. Third eye? What are you talking about? I couldn't decide if this was an actual thing or if they were trying to wind me up. I was imagining all sorts, like a cyclops-type cat with an eye in the middle, or secret eyes hidden on the undersides of the eyelid, or ... or ... I don't know what I was imagining! However, I've since been told that cats have three eyelids, not three eyes. Being a dog person, this is a revelation to me.

Then, in a different city, with a different group of young people this afternoon, one of them suddenly started looking really freaked out. I asked what was up and she pointed at a beam and when I looked I could see a cat sleeping on it. Is it real? she asked. No! It's just a prop! Then followed a series of young people trying to get the fake cat off the beam for a closer look ... I captured a particularly eager hand in the photo. Anyone would have thought we had nothing better to do like, oh, I don't know, to finish devising a play for a mainstage performance this coming Wednesday. No pressure then!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.