Florist, Tenterden High Street

Very enjoyable day which had the gloss taken off with the news of the sudden death of a long time cricketing acquaintance from my youth in Shropshire. We only saw Peter in August at the funeral of another long term cricketing colleague. He was looking well and in fine form with no hint that his life was to end so soon. My thoughts are with his wife Margaret and all the family. Events like this are sobering and make you take stock and give thanks for all that you have.

I received the news of Peter’s death at the Kent and East Sussex Railway’s AGM. This was 48th AGM and the first I have attended owing in the past to rugby commitments. An interesting affair, spiky and argumentative at times but ultimately a useful meeting where we were informed that external reviews and assessments showed that we were better than we thought we were!

After the meeting I met Susan on Tenterden High Street where she had been shopping while I was at the AGM. It was here that today’s blip of a florist was taken.

From Tenterden we drove down to the edge of the world to the Pilot Inn at Dungeness for a fish and chip supper. Although it is November this counted as September’s monthly ration so
I’ve still got October and November’s suppers to have!

It was a super atmosphere in this isolated pub at the coccyx of our islands. Warming fire, good beer only this time the fish and chips were not quite up to their usual high standard as my large haddock was the same size as Susan’s medium cod. I didn’t come away feeling well and truly stuffed as is usually the case.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.