Welcome to the Julfest!

Yesterday amandoAlentejo blipped an industrial/craft potter working and I commented; “It's so lovely to watch someone working who really knows their stuff, is confident, and is happy with their work!”
As I wrote that I thought of all the times I have said to my wife Jan (HarlingDarling) “I love watching you work!” Sewing, drawing, painting, doing calligraphy, or (as here) creating an invitation to a Christmas party, she just works so confidently, and it looks so good!
It isn’t just picking up the pen and exploding into action. I’ve also seen the preparation here, carefully writing the text and checking how much space it will take. And as we are going to fold an A4 piece of paper into an invitation some of it has to be upside down, so it’s right way up when the folding is done.
Jan is working on top of a light board here. We don’t have a light board, she needed a light board, 5 minutes later she’d bodged a light board together and was busy tracing her texts.
It doesn’t always work - I’ve seen some beautiful and  impressive swearing when it goes wrong - but even when it goes wrong it has been done with confidence and skill!  95 times out of 100 it comes out perfect; and it’s so beautiful to watch!!
Jan doesn’t understand why I (and others) are so impressed. She feels it’s a simple activity that anyone could do. I suppose there’s a message here that what we can do easily we don’t really value, while other people, who can’t do it, understand what a wonderful talent it is.
If you want to see the final invitation, Jan added it as an extra, click here
PS  Julfest, pronounced “yule fest”. “fest”, related to feast and festival, means party. So Julfest = Christmas party.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.