Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Moody Metal Pickets

I think I have allowed myself to get a bit carried away by the "film noir" end of things. That means I have been neglecting my original "moody mono" November idea just a tad. If film noir is about story imagining, then moody monos (at least as I see them) are essentially the pure exploration of light, tone and texture to suggest a state of mind.

Obviously the best technical method of creating good mono images is to begin with the original data-rich colour file and convert it to mono with all of the deliberate control that modern PP software allows. The problem, however, is that it is not always easy to work out which colour images will translate best while still on site. So I am using my LX100 with its monochrome filter engaged. The resulting files might well be short of post processing options, but it DOES enable one to SEE them, from their inception, in black and white form ... which can be surprisingly helpful.

I'd love you to take a look at this one LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.