CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

'On this Day' - mural at Gloucester Royal Hospital

I had a busy day with a dental check-up in the morning in Dursley, about ten miles from home, followed by a check on my recently replaced hip by the surgeon’s team. This was at the Gloucester Royal Hospital close to the city centre, although my operation had occurred about ten miles away from there in Cheltenham.

The surgeon thought that my recovery has gone well but took a couple of x-rays to double check the implant’s position and the results looked good to him too. I asked if I could take a photo of the resulting x-ray display on his computer but apparently that is not allowed. So you are spared a blip of that rather challenging image!

So instead I carried out plan B, which I’d spotted on the corridor into the Orthopaedic Unit, which runs along the outside of the relatively new hospital directly from the main entrance.

I found on an information panel at the gateway to this corridor that it is called:
'On this day' – The Gloucester Panorama 2014
‘Artists Anna Heinrich and Leon Palmer'

'On This Day' was commissioned by the Gloucestershire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust in 2014 to mark the tenth anniversary of the completion of the hospital buildings.

It is 24 metres long and 2.7 metres high. It forms a 360 degree view of Gloucester and the surrounding landscape with each one metre wide panel representing one hour of the day. The photographs were taken from the roof of the hospital tower over a 24 hour period from 9th to the 10th September 2014, with the camera being moved by 15 degrees every hour. Using a high resolution digital camera it is made up of hundreds of photographs joined together to give the high level of detail.’

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.