Kipsie

By Kipsie

I love it when a plan comes together

& that's exactly what happened today apart from the horrid thick drizzle that quickly came in and spoilt my Torquay harbour bimble, but I'd got what I set out to do so can't complain.
The day started well, Ella is a tad finicky when it comes to food, well yesterday when we went shopping I bought a small can of pilchards in tomato sauce. I know Mum's dog is rather partial to some canned fish so thought Ella, my charge, might like a change from her cooked sausages, & chicken thighs. She woofed it down, s'cuse the pun. I did'nt give her too much ..... I have to think of the consequences  :- (
With a hop & skip which she does quite often as we leave the house we set off, posted a letter, did a lap of Armada park & back to base. The skies brightened, & I'd planned a trip to to Torquay harbour with the Wide Wednesday blip 'SOLID' challenge in mind, but first St Marychurch. I'm looking for a couple of balls of mega chunky wool to knit a couple of scarves so thought the charity shops might be worth a visit. Well, I did'nt find wool but did find 2 jumpers plus 2 books in the Animals In Distress charity shop all for the princely sum of  £9. The Wind in The Willows I read when I was young, then played the role of washerwoman/bargewoman in a school play. I couldnt help but pick it up, the second book, Hygge & Kisses ... chic lit I'm sure, the plot based in Denmark. I spent a wonderful year in Sweden working many years ago, & would love to revisit Scandinavia. Maybe this is my revisit. Who knows. I had a mooch up through the precinct, had a lovely browse in a healthfood shop called The Happy Apple. An amazing range of products for sale, I just took my time and browsed every shelf. Incredible! I bought a bunch of fresh thyme & a bottle of Bundaberg ginger beer. Hubby & I  stopped off in Bundanberg on our senior gap year trip that lasted 15 years. LOL!!! We bought Bundaberg rum on that occasion if I recall. I shall definitely return to the Happy Apple knowing what they now have on offer. Grabbed some bits of shopping in the local Coop. I'm not even going to begin to describe the fiasco at the tills. Back to the car & off to the harbour. I found a car park, perfectly situated for me to just walk down some steps & voila! On the quay, 2 local trawlers moored up, exactly what I was looking for. I took quite a few shots as you do, then spotted a Brixham trawler just heading in through the breakwater. Damn! It was heading for a mooring on the other side of the harbour, too far for me to get to  before my parking ticket ran out. I did a loop across the harbour swing bridge. The abandoned crab pots etc. on the quay caught my eye. I do love a bit of abandoned material as you may know. I forgot to mention I found a beautiful fish lure & hook on the quay. :- ) The weather turned horrid, thick drizzle, which unbeknown to me was on my camera lens so there are a few pics that are of no use whatsoever, never mind, it gives me a good excuse to return, next time making it 2 hour parking instead of 1, ideally in sunshine. I might even weaken and treat myself to fish & chips while I'm there. I was tempted today as I was really cold heading back to the car. I spotted a very smart SUV in the car park, I had to be nosy. A Maserati Levante ... very smart. Back to my little Toyota Aygo which I love to bits, & home for lunch.
I spent an hour or so tweaking the lino cut, annoyingly the sun shine right in my eyes where I was sat. I tried to draw the curtain, but Nicky has twinkly lights wound around the curtain pole so that did'nt work. Finished tweaking but did'nt get to printing today.

Cider o'clock, Ella had a surf n'turf supper. I'd totally forgotten up my dinner so settled for a jacket spud with creamy mushrooms & spinach. Easy! Booked a haircut for Mum & I this coming Friday morning.
Josie is coming over to do some lino cutting tomorrow & I'm doing lunch. Think I'll make a white bean & cabbage soup. That should hit the spot with some crusty bread.

Right I'm off to bed with Hygge & Kisses ..... or ........ The Wind In The Willows. Ha ha ha!!!

Ella's in, I'm gone.

Thanks to Bobsblips for hosting Wide Wednesday. I was determined not to fall back on a botanical subject for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.