Tension

It has been a strange day. 

Work was all about the election buzz, but the Manager and the Boss had taken the day off to campaign. The Goth took the afternoon off for the same reason. I was on my own for half the day.

In the evening I was expecting to be on “get out the vote” duties. This involves visiting all the voters who told us during canvassing that they will be voting for us, to check that they have… or intend to, depending on the time of day. 

We will even drive them to the polling place if need be. 

I remember in 2017 we called on an elderly supporter about 8:30pm and she had not yet voted. It had been raining all day and she did not want to walk that far. I drove her there. She was delighted. 

We lost by just 200 votes, so they all count. In the North East Fife constituency next door, our candidate won by 2 votes. Yes, they all count. And yes, I get very grumpy about people who say their vote doesn’t count. 

Anyway, we had a communications breakdown tonight and I ended up at the wrong place at the right time (or the other way around). It is cold and dark, so I’m not upset to be spending it at home…

The Blip is my car outside the Office this morning. A flag day. The Extra is a selfie - the Goth insisted we have a team photo. It reminds me - she is 37 years younger than me. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.