LornaL

By LornaL

Preface to Told around the fire

Preface

“I believe that most real authors get a friend or someone celebrated to write a preface for them. I don’t know anybody celebrated, and if I got Pip to write it, goodness knows what she’d put. So for safety’s sake I have written the preface myself.

I humbly and sincerely appoligise to all teachers and writers of the English language for all the mistakes in grammer and spelling there are in the following stories, but since they probably won’t see this, they will at least be saved the pains of my grammatical contortions.

Of course it is an awful strain on me to have to write down what Pip and Muff and Pinkie said because most of it consisted on “Well. you see this chap did…” so and so, and you see I’ve had to translate. Shakespeare does say “Never excuse” but I thought I’d better.”

Yours Ever

Pug

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.