Women in Gold

My attempt at ‘Extreme Editing’ for Ingeborg’s Abstract Thursday challenge.

We were at Cotea in Westbourne for our daily caffeine kick. Good news, a young lady who was previously a barista nearby, has returned from a 6 month drive in Europe. And is now working at our new haunt. She knows how to make a proper Flat White (which only a select few cafés/baristas achieve).

So we savoured our coffee, served in their exquisite Klimt ‘Woman in Gold’ decorated cups. I always admire them, and today they have been ‘extremely edited’ for the challenge.

Downpours and gales all day. Wore my fishing waterproof mac (no, I don’t fish). Anyway it was door to door by bus, so no worries.

Seeing the original of ‘Woman in Gold’ (Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer), at the Tate Modern Liverpool, is one my most magical memories. I expect you all know it, but if not, do look at this. I also urge you to read the sad story (also made into a film) around the provenance of this work which was seized by the Nazis. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portrait_of_Adele_Bloch-Bauer_I

NB see the actual cup in extras

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.